Not the year for summit attempts…

I’m 0 for 2 on 14er summit attempts this year… bummer! But not for lack of trying.

This time around, I attempted Mount Tyndall. I believe that’s California’s 10th highest mountain at 14,025 feet. I had heard that the ascent was difficult, but man… I’m still recovering. 26 miles and 10,000 feet of elevation gain (and loss) in just over 24 hours is painful… but to get 100 feet from the summit only to turn back is tough to stomach. That, and thunderstorms that brought a few inches of rain and hail, made it an interesting weekend.

But, better safe than sorry. The ascent wasn’t safe alone – the last few hundred feet are boulders half my height. To make it even more fun, some of them are loose. So, within a stone’s throw of my summit goal, I decided to turn around. Lucky for me, that mountain’s not going anywhere. I’ll be back, Mount Tyndall. With a buddy.

Same goes for you, Mount Langley. After the ice has melted.

~ by stormcellar on October 11, 2011.

One Response to “Not the year for summit attempts…”

  1. You inspire me 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
