Oirce! (Travis)

Just had an amusing experience that I thought I should share.

Quincy and I went out to do our daily shopping, which includes a bag of ice. I asked at the checkout, “Do you have ice?”

Here’s how the conversation went:

Me: “Do you have ice?”
Him: “Ice?”
Me: “Yeah.”
Him: “What’s ice?”
Me: “Ice…”
Him: “I’m not familiar with that product.”
Me: “Frozen water.”

At this point the guy behind us in line barks “OIRCE!” – adding a half dozen unnecessary sounds to the word.

The guy manning the checkout line says “Oooh, oirce! That’s outside – pay here and pick it up on your way out.”

This is the second time we’ve gone through this. Apparently I don’t add enough letters to the word “ice” for Aussies to understand it.

~ by stormcellar on December 22, 2010.

4 Responses to “Oirce! (Travis)”

  1. Haha! I love learning about different customs in foreign lands! Does the bag still say ice on it?

  2. Also, did you guys notice I wrote a blog in your honor? I am very pleased with myself. These are miles stones in my less exciting life. http://en2design.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

 
