Aussie Aussie Aussie! (Travis)

We just got home from a very, very short cricket match – only 4 hours. Apparently one-day matches usually last 7 hours – and then there’s the 5 day “tests”. They can last for 5 days, 7 hours a day. Sounds boring.

But it isn’t.

I have to admit, I was skeptical at first – cricket sounded like a long game of baseball, which I don’t find too exciting. But we had an absolute blast, despite not having a clue how the game worked at first. I won’t try to explain it since I’m sure I’d get it wrong, but picture baseball with a harder, smaller ball, and no gloves. The bowler (like the pitcher) sprints to the mound from center field before throwing a near-100 mile an hour pitch at the batter, who has to wear protective gear for when he gets hit (not in case he gets hit, becasue it’s perfectly legal). There’s cheering, there’s beer, and there’s more cheering as there’s more beer. It’s a blast, and I hope to see another match while we’re here!

Wish I had a picture from the cricket game…. maybe I’ll be able to pull one off of Ray’s phone later.

Then there’s driving. I feel 15 again, re-learning the rules of the road. But, I did alright. Quincy gave me an A-, until I made a left signal entering a roundabout (whoops), and was downgraded to a B+. I guess I can settle for that.

We’re still trying hard to find a van to buy, which is turning out to be a bit tougher than we expected. There are plenty of vans around, but getting to them before somebody snatches them up is proving tough, considering we need to rely on public transportation. Wish us luck!

~ by stormcellar on November 8, 2010.

2 Responses to “Aussie Aussie Aussie! (Travis)”

  1. crikey! can’t view the vid for some reason šŸ˜¦ It’s a private video or something.

    Good luck finding a van! The perfect one is waiting for you!!

  2. Ah! Ok, that should fix it šŸ™‚ Thanks Sab!
    -T

Leave a Reply

 
