While you are sleeping (Quincy)

That’s right..while you are all snuggled up in your beds right now, I am writing my FIRST BLOG FROM AUSTRALIA!!!

The first exciting thing happened today…we had to take an emergency landing in the 11th hour of our plane flight due to low fuel. The cool part: we got to make the emergency landing in New Caledonia (suuweeeet!). The uncool part: for about 50 seconds of my life I thought I was going to die a gruesome death–crashing into the Pacific ocean. A cruel death, really…after 11 long hours surrounded by screaming babies and turbulence. Here is how it went down: Pilot speaking over intercom: “I am afraid that due to several factors we will not have enough fuel to make it to Brisbane (long pause) Unfortunately, we are at full weight capacity and the wind was not working on our side (long pause) Due to these factors, I am so sorry to tell you that we will not be making it to Brisbane. (long pause). After about a minute of this, he FINALLY got to the point that we are not going to die, but instead, we will be landing in New Caledonia…phewf!

14 hour + 3 hour “detour” = 17 hour flight

17 hour flight + complimentary drinks= Quincy not too bummed

Anyways…we got to the airport and my good friends Ray and Lorraine picked us up and took us out to an amazing lunch in Brisbane! After lunch, we headed to their house and went for a hike after being told that we might see some koalas sleeping in the trees. Unfortunately, no koalas today, but we DID see a cockatoo, which is apparently a pest in Australia.

We will be staying at Ray and Lorraine’s for the next few days…until we have our van to travel in! Their house is super comfortable…they have a pool and a sprawling lawn and we can hear all sorts of birds from our window.

Trying my first “Shandy” right now, which is beer mixed with lemonade. According to Ray, it’s a popular drink at the pub for women. His advice to Travis: don’t order it as a guy unless you want to be teased πŸ™‚

It’s de-lish!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ by stormcellar on November 4, 2010.

5 Responses to “While you are sleeping (Quincy)”

  1. After falling asleep to my first alarm, I wake to the upsettingly cheery phone call of my friend arriving on the scene of my property to provide me with transportation to my place of employment. Throwing caution to the wind, I rapidly awaken myself and leap out into the day leaving many precious items at home. From there, my friend and I visit a local coffee shop (perhaps you’ve heard of it, Star something or other) and I purchase my wears for the day. November 4th … here I come.

  2. ❀ !!!

  3. Oh my gosh, how scary. I hate how pilots take forever to tell you what is really going on πŸ™‚

    Can’t wait to hear all about your adventures in Australia. Soak it all in guys. Miss and love you both.

    Cheers,

    Brieahn

  4. Thanks for all the love! Good luck with your 4th Niss. Sounds like a wild one πŸ™‚

    It was a little nerve racking for a bit, but it’s just funny now πŸ™‚ We’ll soak it all in – and probably very literally. It rains like I’ve never seen before. They call this season the Wet for a good reason!

    -T

  5. Nisse – you are awesome. Please drink a tasty beer for me. I miss tasty beer.

    Brieahn- Miss you too!

    -Q

Leave a Reply

 
